LEH Physicists of the Year
  • Senior
  • Sixth Form
  • STEM

On 9th July, two LEH students received School Physicist of the Year awards at the University of Surrey. Zeta (LVQ) and Aria (LVIK) and their families met Mr Brittain at the UNIS Lecture block to attend the physics fair and meet the other nominees. Having explored the stalls and speaking with the UNIS representatives we were escorted to the lecture hall. Here the celebrity physicist, Professor Jim Al-Khalili discussed Entanglement and Wormholes. Each nominee then received a book prize from Prof. Al-Khalili, listened to each other’s nomination statements and received certificates from an officer of the Ogden Trust, (the award organizers).

Zeta and Aria both fully deserve recognition for the tremendous work they have put into engaging with physics enrichment. The list of contributions they have made is extensive. It includes competing in national competitions, research projects, and attended lectures at venues such as UCL, Imperial, Cambridge, the Royal Society, and the Royal Institution. They are superb ambassadors for LEH; actively encouraging and supporting student participation in physics activities throughout the school.

By Mr Brittain - Teacher of Physics and Stem Co-ordinator